top of page

Grand Day In Granada

Updated: Mar 1, 2020

As I am sitting on a bench in Plaza de la Romanilla- the same Plaza that we confidently told a man yesterday was the opposite direction because we were excited that we understood his question in Spanish, were mistaken for Spanish people and because we truly thought it was a different plaza... Poor guy, I hope he found his way.


I am listening to a man play Spanish guitar across the street, a street that only allows foot traffic. Next to him there is a park with swings. I am drinking my iced coffee (only the 2nd one I have been able to find in Spain) because it's 73 degrees today and so beautiful in the sun. Granda is actual paradise.


I am so thankful, I could cry. This music is beautiful. There are people chattering behind me while dining, what I'm assuming is their afternoon snack, "merienda." The park is surrounded by palm trees and there is a girl wearing a princess tiara on the swings being pushed by her father. Seeing her reminds me of how fast time goes and also of how precious every day can be.


Granda makes time move slower. This is the place I want to live when I am older. This is the city I want to die in- as bleak as that might sound, it's not. Granda is the place I want to be when I have no where I must be. Granda is made for slow afternoon walks and evenings dining on free tapas that come with your high quality but super low cost beer and wine. Granda is made for enjoying life and opening up all of your senses. The streets constantly smell of incense and spices. Every hour of the day there are people playing classical guitars and somewhere someone can be found sitting in the shade of an orange tree, even in December.



27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page